He smokes, she smokes…

Posted: April 9, 2014 in Uncategorized

It is amazing to sometimes take a step back, and see things around you. What astonished me, and continues to, is to see the increase in the number of girls smoking these days. 

Accepted that this is not something new. I remember attending a hangout of photographers and being close to mocked at when I insisted I don’t smoke standing with three girls and a guy. But things seem to have gone to a much higher gear now. 

Let me start from our friends. Put together I think about one half of my friends (who are girls) love inhaling & exhaling tobacco. Would have loved to see equality, but not for this! And that takes me to the thought of why things are changing – 

– Stress : That has to be the number one reason that I hear from people. It somehow gives people an outlet. 

– Just for kicks : Mallory once famously said when asked “Why do you want to climb Mount Everest?”, “Because it’s there”!

– Equality and being considered equals : If men can do it, why can’t we? Are we any less?

– Weigh loss? : Heard it a couple of times yet. Implied from the fact that a lot of people tend to gain weight when they quit. Scientific explanation being smoking destroys your taste buds. Quitting revives it and the food tastes good!

What do you think is the reason? Would it get any better?

Leave a Reply

